Vision, Mission & Values

Vision

The Council actively contributes to upholding and enhancing the rule of law by striving to ensure access to justice and equality before the law of people of limited means.


Mission

  • To ensure provision of high quality, efficient and effective legal aid services and to secure adequate funding therefor.
  • To seek to improve continually the legal and administrative systems concerning and affecting the provision of legal aid.
  • To help increase public awareness of legal aid.
  • To keep under review the establishment of an independent legal aid authority.

Values

  • Committed : The Council is committed to its work and upholds its VMV because it believes that legal aid is essential to the rule of law and the Council contributes positively to legal aid services. While adhering to the provisions of the Legal Aid Services Council Ordinance, the Council endeavours to improve the provisions of the Ordinance in pursuit of its VMV.
  • Independent and Fair : A greater degree of independence in legal aid administration was one of the reasons for establishing the Council in 1996, and independence is therefore one of its core values. Thus, while acknowledging the interest or view of different stakeholders, the Council will take a disinterested position and pursue a course of action that is most appropriate in contributing to the rule of law and equality before the law. The Council will not ignore any fact or view that may be presented to it.
  • Accessible : One of the reasons for establishing the Council was to broaden public participation in legal aid administration. The Council will make such arrangements as to facilitate members of the public to obtain open information regarding the Council, or communicate with the Council on specific issues, or take part actively or passively in its work without prejudicing the discharge of its responsibilities. The Council will be accessible to the public, to stakeholders, and to interested parties locally or overseas.
  • Transparent : A better understanding of the Council will enhance trust in the Council and legal aid services being provided. It is a pre-requisite for active public participation in the Council's work. Therefore, the Council will make known to the public its work without breaching confidentiality in respect of specific issues or on specific occasions.
  • Responsive : the Council has to be responsive for two reasons. Firstly, legal aid service is provided within a wider environment. In order to provide sound advice on legal aid policy and to supervise effectively legal aid services provided by LAD, the Council has to be sensitive and proactive in respect of changes in social, economic and political conditions, legal practices and technological innovation. Secondly, timely and comprehensive response to public complaints or enquiries will build a more effective channel of communication with members of the public, and will contribute to greater public participation in legal aid administration through the Council. The Council is ready to listen, to follow up with research, to deliberate and to act promptly.

 



Popular Posts
Council Meetings
Council Meetings 2022
Annual Report
Annual Report 2020-2021

抱负,使命及信念

抱负

竭力确保在法律面前人人平等,即使是缺乏经济能力的人,也能寻求正义伸张;藉以维护和巩固香港社会的法治精神。


使命

  • 确保提供质优丶快捷丶妥当的法援服务;并为此争取足够的经费。
  • 争取改善关於或影响法律援助服务的法律和行政制度。
  • 促助加强公众对法援服务的认识。
  • 按时检讨成立独立法援机构的问题。

信念

  • 全力以赴 : 本局忠於职责,恪守抱负丶使命及信念宣言的宗旨,因为本局相信法律援助对於维持法治方面极具价值, 本局亦积极开展法律援助服务。在遵守《法律援助服务局条例》〔本局条例〕的同时,本局致力於完善条例规定,发扬抱负丶使命及信念宣言的精神。
  • 公正独立 : 提高法律援助管理的独立性是一九九六年成立本局的原因之一,因此,独立性是本局核心价值之一。在确认不同利益团体的利益或观点的同时,本局将采取大公无私的立场处理事务,为建立法治社会及法律面前人人平等精神而努力。本局不会忽视在会议上可能提出的任何事实或观点。
  • 通众近民 : 成立本局的一个原因是扩大公众对法援管理的参与。本局将作出适当安排,方便公众获取本局的公开资料,或与本局就特定事项沟通,或在不影响本局履行职责的情况下,主动或被动地参与本局的工作。本局将设立与公众丶利益团体及本港或海外对法援有兴趣的人士的沟通渠道。
  • 开诚布公 : 加深公众了解本局将会加强公众对本局及法援服务的信任,此亦是公众积极参与本局工作的先决条件。因此,在不违反特定事宜或特定场合须保密的情况下,本局将向公众公开本身的工作。
  • 敏於众望 : 基於两种原因,本局须敏锐回应。首先,法律援助是在扩阔的社会环境中提供服务。为了对法援政策提供完善的意见,有效监督法援署提供的法援服务,本局须对社会丶经济及政治状况,法律惯例及技术革新的变化十分敏感,并积极应对。其次,对公众投诉或谘询作出及时全面的回应,将能建立更为有效与公众沟通渠道,因此有助公众透过本局更积极参与法律援助管理。本局随时准备聆听公众意见,跟进讨论研究,并及时采取行动。


热门资讯
Council Meetings
法援局会议 2022
Annual Report
年报 2021-2022